The Rich Man & Lazarus

This post is the first follow-up to Heaven, Hell, & How to Get There. If you have not read it yet, I suggest checking it out so you know where I am going next…

I think most are at least passingly familiar with the story told in the latter half of Luke, Chapter 16. It may be the most in-depth description anywhere in the Bible of what happens after we die, or so it would seem. Jesus could very easily have used this sort of example again and again in his teaching but he didn’t. Why? I suspect that God’s punishment is something that a human could never fully comprehend the horror of.  Because of that I think that Jesus uses examples which will scare the crap out of his human audience.

What do I think this horror of punishment is? Well, I don’t want to give everything away at once. That’ll be my next post…

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

